New and Noteworthy
Recent Videos News

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Audio Engineering and Getting Started
04-04-2015, 05:17 PM (This post was last modified: 06-03-2017 11:47 PM by Ezekieru.)

Lately I've ran into several people, friends and strangers alike, who seem to be struggling with successfully mixing the audio of their productions. When I ask what their technique is, it usually boils down to “just playing it by ear,” which means they just mix until it sounds okay to them. While this is something plenty of audio engineers do, this is after they've had years of experience under their belt and know how to properly adjust the properties of the clips to fit into one another.

I feel today, I should contribute a simple, easy way to mix your tracks so everything will have an appropriate level of separation between tracks. I won’t go too deep into the matter myself, given I’m still learning loads about the more intricate stuff, but here’s the technique I use for my own productions.

First, let’s take a look at the tools you’ll be using. Let’s stick to a video-editing program this time around, so pull up your NLE (non-linear editor, e.g. Adobe Premiere, Sony Vegas) and look for these three things.

1. Your timeline. The part of the program where you line up your audio and video clips.

[Image: 4797dbb915.png]

2. Your clips. The audio clips that you need to mix. Dialogue along with BGM or ambiance, and perhaps even some SFX.

[Image: e64349b99b.png]

3. Your audio meter. The most important component, this reads out how loud your audio is.

[Image: 8f14e69dd2.png]